Junk URL and splogging?



Can someone please tell me what the heck this is?

http: / / webgrrrl.net/ / public/ slider/ addineyeV2.html? strBanner= gEbServerData= ’1.0: : 244213: : 470804: : Site- 251/ Type- 11/ 470804_ FE24BF70- 4A2B- 4516- 84CD- 43AECF82EAC1.js: : ExpBanner: : 0: : ebLoadScript(“ebPlayScript”,”http: / / ai656.insightexpressai.com/ adServer/ adServer.aspx? bannerID= 18593″): : : : 0: : - 1: : : : 0: : 0: : 0: : 37414: : 0′;gEbBannerData= ’59194235810219241182137473531: : 1: : 300: : 250: : : : webgrrrl.net: : 0: : 0: : 30: : false: : false: : true: : 0: : 0′;gEbInteractions= ‘[_ eyeblaster,http%3A/ / ad.doubleclick.net/ click%253Bh%3Dv8/ 3575/ 3/ 0/ %252a/ d%253B110807295%253B0- 0%253B0%253B16717987%253B4307- 300/ 250%253B21364406/ 21382296/ 1%253B%253B%257Eaopt%253D2/ 0/ 3d3b/ 0%253B%257Esscs%253D%253f,]‘;ebBSmallS= ‘http%3A/ / ds.serving- sys.com/ BurstingScript/ ebBannerServing.js’;gEbDbgLvl= 0;gEbFlashVer= 9;gEbWMPVer= 10;gEbResolution= 16;gEbTemplateName= ‘ExpBanner’;gEbAdUrl= ‘Site- 251/ Type- 11/ 470804_ FE24BF70- 4A2B- 4516- 84CD- 43AECF82EAC1.js’;gEbDynamicResHost= ‘ds- ll.serving- sys.com’;gfEbUseCompression= true;gfEbCacheResources= true;gnEbLowBWLimit= 120;gnEbMinZIndex = 10000;

I got this from looking through my MyBlogLog’s site stats.

Snapshot of the junk URL from WebGrrrl.net site stats

Could this be the work of a splog? In the morning, my WP dashboard did show a pingback from a blog that was snatching posts from other sites, not just mine. But by the time of this post, it has disappeared. I’ll check my browser History later and see if the site is still up.

Update 19/June/2007: And the splog is still up, and made from IP address 75.126.199.186. I’m going to e-mail and demand the site be put down. If ever the site owner said “I didn’t do it on purpose, it’s just a test”, you don’t think I would believe — or care for that matter — do you? Here are the snapshots from

Screen shot of my Top Commentators Widget in WordPress.org plugin directory (coming soon) post from the splogger's site Screen shot of my Junk URL and splogging post from the splogger's site

Update 23/June/2007: Holy Willy Wonka! Based on my web logs, the junk URL may very well be a referral from All Things Digital, one the WordPress CMS sites I was raving about. If it really is so, then slap me on the fanny and call me silly — if it’s just a pingback visit, then it’s fine by me.

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>